African Union

An organisation consisting of member states from the African continent. The African Union was founded in 2001 and replaced the Organisation of African Unity. The regional bloc has created the Pan-African Parliament, a Commission and a semi-annual meeting of the heads of state and government. The African Union has also established a Peace and Security Council (PSC) in order to enforce and implement decisions.