State of Palestine

A de jure sovereign state governed which consists of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip with Jerusalem as the capital. The territory claimed by the State of Palestine has been under occupation since 1948. As a result of the Oslo Accords, the Palestinian National Authority was formed to govern destignated Areas A and B in the West Bank (and the Gaza Strip). Palestine is recognised by the majority of UN members and is a member of the Arab League, the OIC and the G77.